Golf equipment,Golf Swing Trainers,Golf Swing DVDs,Video

History of Phoenix Waste Management Open

The Phoenix Open is a pro golf tournament that has a rich history dating back to 1932. Due to corporate sponsorship, its full name is currently the Waste Management Phoenix Open. It is four days long and typically gets a total attendance of about half a million spectators. The tournament is held at the Stadium Course at the TPC of Scottsdale, a prestigious Arizona golf course known for being spectator friendly. It has a par of 71 and a total of 7,216 yards in length. The tournament is currently played in late January and early February, often ending on the same weekend as the Super Bowl. The Phoenix Open’s prize fund is currently just over six million dollars. The 2013 tournament will take place from January 28th to February 3.

The original version of the Phoenix Open, which was then called the Arizona Open, was discontinued after the 1935 tournament. The Thunderbirds, a prominent local civic group, helped revive the tournament in 1939. The organization, which has now been in existence for over 75 years, is renowned in the Phoenix area for its charity work. The Thunderbird with the most significant role was Bob Goldwater Sr, a golf enthusiast. The Thunderbirds remain significantly involved in the production of the tournament today.

Many famous golfers have participated in, and won, the Phoenix Open. Phil Mickelson is a fan favorite at the event because he graduated from Arizona State, which is located in nearby Tempe. Tiger Woods has also participated in the tournament, but has never won it. The most times that an individual golfer has won the tournament is three. This feat was accomplished by Arnold Palmer, Mark Calcavecchia, and Gene Littler. There have also been ten two-time winners, including Mickelson. The 2012 champion was Kyle Stanley.

Several golfers have finished the tournament with impressive scores. The lowest score in the tournament’s history was 256 by Mark Calcavecchia in 2001. He was 28 under par, also a tournament record. The second best score occurred when Steve Jones scored 259 in 1997. Johnny Miller had 260 in 1975 and Vijay Singh had 261 in 2003.

The tournament is open to professional golfers from all over the world. The vast majority of winners have been from the United States, but golfers from Fiji, Scotland, Canada, Australia, and Scotland have also captured the championship. The most recent foreign champion was Australia’s Aaron Baddeley in 2007.

The Phoenix Open’s exciting history and tradition will help it continue to win fans and prestige. It has become one of golf’s most popular and prestigious tournaments and its future looks bright.

This write-up of the Waste Management Open is courtesy ofScottsdale DUI Lawyer, David Cantor. The Law Offices of David Michael Cantor is a very well respected DUI defense law firm in Arizona.

© 2009. All Rights Reserved